Day 8: My Late Night Date with Ottava Rima

Let me just show you my creative process in getting to know Miss Ottava Rima. We got off on a rocky start just trying to figure out her meter and rhyme scheme because it’s been a while since I wrote one:

Scratchouts, galore!

Scratchouts, galore!
Copyright © Michelle D. Hooks 2013 

Now NaPoWriMo, we’re getting along just fine, right before the day is done:

I lay in bed with peace of mind, it seems.

I feel your presence right here, still and warm.

You press your hand upon my head. My dreams

are rushing mental flashbacks: quiet storm

is creeping closer, lightning strikes the seams

that stitched my heart together, changing form.

The shock awakes my slumber, head is light.

My eyes are struggling to close tonight.

– Michelle D. Hooks

(4/8/13)

Copyright © Michelle D. Hooks 2013

Leave a Reply

