Day 10: Un-love Poem

It’s official: I hit the double-digit poem count for NaPoWriMo! Ten down, 20 more to go!

NaPoWriMo gave the option to write an un-love poem, one about a sarcastic dislike. I wrote about something that annoys me constantly every time I run a quick errand:

Crossing the Street in an Inner-City Neighborhood

Oh, how I love walking down the street

with nothing to distract me,

just listening to my shuffling feet.

I love it even more when cars drive pass the crosswalk.

I lose my right-of-way

as if I wasn’t the first person on the block.

I let the car drive past,

but when the next car pulls up,

I make sure I walk fast.

– Michelle D. Hooks


Copyright © Michelle D. Hooks 2013

Leave a Reply

