Day 11: Tankas!

Yes, NaPoWriMo‘s option today is one of my favorite poetic forms, the tanka! I’m a firm believer in brevity, and it’s truly an art form when you say something concisely and people get a gist of what you’re conveying. I wrote two tankas today. Enjoy!

The Gift of Gab

Flash those pearly whites

at me, you can string along

as many senten-

ces as you like. Conversa-

tions are meant to be treasured.

Drinking : Tea :: Kissing : Lips

I cup your face like

I cradle warm mugs as I

sip Chai tea from your

lips and savor the sweet taste.

I can go for seconds, sir.

– Michelle D. Hooks

(4/11/13)

Copyright © Michelle D. Hooks 2013

Leave a Reply

