Day 12: Honesty is the Best Policy

This NaPoWriMo exercise came at the right moment because there are some things that need to be said. It’s prose, but I’ll try to do a poem double-up on a future exercise. Here it is:

Sorry, your expectations of me has not been met.


“Hello, you have reached Michelle Hooks, the one who everyone expects to be a teacher*. I’m taking a working holiday in doing what I love to do, which is writing. And I’m getting paid to do it! It’s not much, but it’s better than nothing. I would even do it for free because that’s how much I love it.

Isn’t it great? Oh wait, you’re not enthused at all. I get it. You want me to work at a job with benefits, but how many entrylevel jobs that I qualify for offer that? Exactly. You want me to have a career that pays off my student debt. Fair enough, I agree with you there. And you want to speak so proudly of me, but what I’m doing isn’t good enough for you, is it?

I know you mean well, but I can’t please everyone, SORRY. I just got my foot in door trying to be successful in what I want to do, and I’m trying to figure out this thing called life. Accept where I’m at right now (because it took me over a year to get here), hope things work out for the both of us and leave your message after the BEEP.”


To leave a message, press 1 or just wait for the tone.

– Michelle D. Hooks


Copyright © Michelle D. Hooks 2013


* There’s nothing wrong with teaching, I’m just tired of people telling me that’s all I can do with an English degree when I know it isn’t true… Le sigh.

Leave a Reply

