Day 15: Pantun

I made it to NaPoWriMo‘s halfway checkpoint! It’s crazy how fast this month is flying by so fast. All I can do is keep the momentum going!

This is my first time writing a pantun. It’s a Malay poetic form that follows the a-b-a-b rhyming scheme and each line is between 8 – 12 syllables. Love is the main theme for these poems, so I decided to write about love since I rarely do. These were really fun to write, so I wrote two!

60 Degrees Fahrenheit

Spring has gotten over its cold

and greeted me with sunshine and a gentle breeze.

If love feels like this, then I’m sold.

Oh, my heart is wide open like the Seven Seas.

Shh…

Your secrets are safe, tucked inside

the creases of my ears, darling.

Bottled messages wade with tide,

won’t be revealed. Waves are hurling.

– Michelle D. Hooks

(4/15/13)

Copyright © Michelle D. Hooks 2013

Leave a Reply

