Day 16: Rough Translations

Today’s NaPoWriMo exercise is a tough one that I might revisit before the month is over.

The task is to pick a poem in a foreign language that you’re unfamiliar with and make a rough translation. I found myself reading the English translation a tad bit too much, so I decided to write a poem about how I felt about this exercise instead. Also, I felt lost browsing through different tongues without knowing what anything means. Mental blocks, I swear!

Oh, and this is my first time writing a reverse etheree, a poem with ten lines, no rhythm or rhyme scheme and each line corresponds with the syllable count. Hopefully I can get back on track tomorrow.

Lost in Translation

I just found myself lost in translation,

thinking that one word means something else,

but languages play tricks on me.

Comparing English words to

foreign ones work sometimes.

In French, rester means

“to stay,” not “rest.”

Languages

confuse

me.

– Michelle D. Hooks

(4/16/13)

Copyright © Michelle D. Hooks 2013

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Day 23: Rough Translations Poem (Pt. II) | Poetess In Progress

Leave a Reply

