Day 18: Same Beginning, Same Ending

In this NaPoWriMo exercise, the poem begins and ends with the same word. Here’s my poem, inspired by one of my favorite poets Sonia Sanchez:

I.

polished are your words,

written and spoken.

i find pieces of myself

in your work like

picking up fragments

of a soprano sky.

that woman sung so

loud and proud she

brought

down

the

chandeliers!

II.

the glass cascaded like my tears always do whenever i read “Just Don’t Never Give Up on Love.” it’s like my body lies in a lost-and-found box, but my lingering spirit lifts my lonely bones and my shaking skin and I fall in love with the person who matters most –  me.

III.

you say:

love between us is

speech and breath. loving you is

a long river running.*

you place so much emphasis

on breathing:

the very thing that can calm us

in any situation, but we

tend to forget it.

IV.

your words are mounted high

in my mental trophy case,

never collecting dust,

always polished.

– Michelle D. Hooks

(4/18/13)

Copyright © Michelle D. Hooks 2013

__________

* “Haiku (for you)” from Like the Singing Coming Off the Drums: Love Poems by Sonia Sanchez

Leave a Reply

