Day 26: Erasures!

I love doing erasure poems, so I was so happy that NaPoWriMo presented this prompt today. I had fun with this exercise and I happened to write an “erasure tanka” from June Jordan‘s Poem for My Love, one of my favorite poems. Enjoy!

How do we come to be here next to each other

in the night

Where are the stars that show us to our love


Outside the leaves flame usual in darkness

and the rain

falls cool and blessed on the holy flesh

the black men waiting on the corner for

a womanly mirage

I am amazed by peace

It is this possibility of you


and breathing in the quiet air

– Michelle D. Hooks


Copyright © Michelle D. Hooks 2013

Leave a Reply

