Day 29: Japanese 101

This the penultimate NaPoWriMo poem of the year. This prompt asks us to use at least five words in a different language(s). I decided to add some Japanese flair to my hay(na)kus because this poem is dedicated to my best friend I met in Japanese 101 at MSU.

[To Rae, 私親友]

一 (ichi)

I saw your

face on

a

campus

tour, but

we never spoke.

二 (ni)

I

thought I

saw you at

orientation, but it’s

just a

glance.

三 (san)

I saw you

at an

outdoor

concert,

but you

left early then.

四 (shi)

We

met for

the first time

at 日本語クラス

[Japanese class]

History was

made.

五 (go)

[A sample of a JPN 101 conversation…]

1: 私 チョコレート大好きです!

2: 本当ですか. 大好きです!

1: ええ~ すごいですねえ!

[1: I love books, tea and chocolate!

2: Really? I love those, too!

1: That’s great!]

六 (roku)

Our friendship is

measured in

laughter,

phone

calls and

time spent together.

七 (shichi)

I found my

soul mate

of

almost

five years.

I miss seeing

her face and

everything about

her.

八 (hachi)

じゃまたね.

[See you later.]

– Michelle D. Hooks

(4/29/13)

Copyright © Michelle D. Hooks 2013

Leave a Reply

