Day 30: VICTORY!

Today is the last day of NaPoWriMo 2013 and I give myself a pat on the back for committing to a personal project to the very end. It feels like a victory lap!

Some poems were better than others, but at least I have more material and ideas for future chapbooks and submitting them to writing contests or possibly publishing them myself. Wish me luck as I keep my mind open for opportunities.

My last poem for April is rewriting a short poem into an opposite poem. I flipped “How I Might Sound if I Left Myself Alone” by Lisa Russ Spaar because I enjoy my alone time.

I Know How I Sound When I Keep Myself Company

Not turning to watch you leave,

I feel I never run toward

other loves, island of heaven

inside my place, my sanctuary.

Family of clouds, chicken soup popping,

journal spined on my crossed lap. Flickering candlelight.

I know it is all right.

Or do tonight, pond frog,

a mute pebble,

old silence in a young one’s head.

Prolong myself? I steep it,

a blooming flower in my glass teapot. Existence?

I love my life,

keeping me through it.

– Michelle D. Hooks

(4/30/13)

Copyright © Michelle D. Hooks 2013

2 Comments

  1. Well done. I like my alone time too. I like the image of your journal opened in your lap, and the flower blooming in your glass teapot! Life in a fishbowl I suppose? The fragility of life?

Leave a Reply

