Day 14: Questions Poem

This NaPoWriMo prompt was a fun one. I wrote as many questions as I could until I found a series of questions to eagerly write about and post here. This poem is dedicated to a frequently asked question I get as a poet:

Questions Poem: “What is poetry to you?”

What is poetry to me?

Is it an invitation to bring more people into my world?

What kind of world is it?

Is it a world where each poetic form is an island

waiting to be explored?

Do people live there?

What tongues do they speak?

Do Tanka Islanders speak in tankas?

Do animals roam there?

Are they named after metrical feet?

Are frogs called amphibrachs?

Does vegetation grow there?

Do people take their poetic seedlings

to harvest their fruits of labor?

Do poems come from poe-trees?

What kind of world is it?

Why do I want to invite you in it?

What is poetry to me?

Poetry is many things to me,

and if you really want to know,

join me for a cup of tea.

– Michelle D. Hooks

(4/14/14)

Copyright © Michelle D. Hooks 2014

NaPoWriMo 2014

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

