Day 16: Makeup Fanatic

Oh, the things I do for beauty!

I take 30 minutes of my day

to conceal every flaw on my face.

My eyelashes are angel wings.

My lips are red wine served to kings.

I have cosmetic cases filled with nail polish.

With all the colors in the world? Mission accomplished!

I have a shoe addiction because each pair

must match every outfit combo I wear.

All these things are true, though,

so I can gain your approval.

– Michelle D. Hooks

(4/16/14)

Copyright © Michelle D. Hooks 2014

NaPoWriMo 2014


This NaPoWriMo poem is filled with ten LIES! If you know me well enough, you know that I don’t have or do any of these things. I’m not the biggest fan of makeup because my skin won’t allow it. It’s so sensitive that one time, I put some sensitive skin foundation on my face and it broke out! I mean, there was an itchy, red rash on my right cheek! I returned it the next day, so no more makeup breakouts for me.

And if you happen to be a makeup fanatic with a beauty ritual, all the power to you! We should all strive to present our best selves in any way that makes you feel great and confident.

Leave a Reply

