Day 18: Rubaiyat

Here’s a morning NaPoWriMo poem for you: a rubaiyat. It’s a series of ruba’i, a four-line stanza with the AABA rhyme scheme. The next stanzas’ rhyme schemes become BBCB, CCDC, etc., depending on how long you write it. When I saw the poetic form, I knew immediately what I wanted to write about. It’s based on a little stress I bottled up this week. Once again, it’s a draft that I’ll work on at a later time.

Rubaiyat: At this moment in time…

I declare my twenties to be my wandering years

because I’m neither lost nor found – one of my biggest fears.

Each day is filled with expectations and doubt.

Some days are foggy – the kind that never clears.

My path of self-discovery is a winding route.

At my unsuccessful points, some people bailed out.

The very people who would support me no matter what

turned into weather vanes – what’s that about?

it’s a blow to the gut.

i’m stuck in a rut,

but i got to make like a peacock

and work on my strut.

Time doesn’t stop for anyone – I’m on the clock.

meeting supportive people along the way to build my flock.

Life is filled with forks and dead ends,

but that doesn’t mean I can’t turn around from them – tick tock.

– Michelle D. Hooks


Copyright © Michelle D. Hooks 2014

NaPoWriMo 2014

Leave a Reply

